Last night over dinner a friend asked what I would collect if money and space were no object. Before my thoughts went wandering to a warehouse full of mid-century chairs, I talked about my fascination with odd little objects – vintage kewpie dolls and children’s books, bird nests, food ration books from Havana, Cuba, seashells, old keys, bits and baubles from an abandoned glass factory in Amman, Jordan, even my childhood shark’s tooth collection. (How I ever managed to hold on to that I’ll never know.) I have a 1930s dental cabinet in my studio that holds many of these treasures. In this gallery you’ll find a piece of coral from Bora Bora, dried roses, vintage stamp bundles, and old sewing needle packages from my grandma. I love re-arranging, adding and organizing everything in there, always leaving a few different drawers open each time so anyone wandering by can get a sneak peek and be encouraged to go exploring. It is one of my favorite things. I’ve started a virtual cabinet of curiosities over at ordinarysparklingmoments.com. May it pique your curiosity in 2013.